Roderick Wood

Roderick J. Wood is the F.R. (Dick) Matthews QC Professor of Business Law at the University of Alberta Faculty of Law, and was appointed as the inaugural Estey Chair of Business Law at the College of Law, University of Saskatchewan for the 2014-15 academic year. He teaches and publishes in the areas of bankruptcy and insolvency law, secured transactions law, commercial law, and debtor-creditor law. He is the author of a treatise on Canadian bankruptcy and insolvency law, has co-authored books on secured transactions law in Canada and New Zealand, and has published extensively in various law journals. He was the 2004 recipient of the Tevie H. Miller Teaching Excellence Award for the Faculty of Law, a 2005 recipient of the A.C. Rutherford Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching at the University of Alberta, and a 2006 recipient of a McCalla Professorship for his contribution to research in law at the University of Alberta.

Professor Wood has served as associate dean (1997-99) at the University of Alberta Faculty of Law, as board member of the Alberta Law Reform Institute (1997-2001), and as commissioner of the Law Commission of Canada (2001-2006) and is currently a co-editor of the Journal of the Insolvency Institute of Canada. Professor Wood was a member of the Canadian delegation at Diplomatic Conferences in Luxembourg in 2007 and Berlin in 2012 that produced international instruments governing the secured financing of rail assets and space assets, and was a member of the drafting committee that produced the text of the Luxembourg Protocol to the Unidroit Convention on International Interests in Mobile Equipment.